Home » Uncategorized » Who am I?

Who am I?

New Me

This is me, Diana.  But who am I and why bother sharing my story?  I believe that we all have a story to tell if we so choose to share.  My story is diverse, full of challenges, battles, and victories.  I will spare you the finer details of my trials but I would like to share a little bit about what I have experienced (in a nutshell) that has made me who I am today.  You see, who I am today is a collective gathering of painful, joyful, and awesome journeys.  So where to begin….

I grew up in a warmer climate…southeastern seaboard.  I am a nice blend of Puerto Rican, Cuban, and Italian. I am a tropical gal…bring me close to the beach and warm humid lands and I glow with excitement.  Ok, so it may be a sweaty glow but hey, it’s in my blood.  I grew up with hurricanes, palm trees, and awesomeness.

When I was 10 years old, my father died.  Cancer.  Lung Cancer.  Self inflicted due to smoking cancer.  I barely knew him and he was gone.  I knew right then my childhood was over.  With a younger sister and a single mother, there was a lot to do now.  My poor mother did not know how to handle the loss and as a coping mechanism, we moved around a lot.  Hey, it’s much easier to walk away from conflict or troubles than it is to face it head on, right? She did the best she could under the circumstances we were in.  She was my mother, my father, and my best friend.

As I entered adulthood (legal age), the world was mine! Finally, I can do what I wanted to do.  Well, so I thought.  Our many moves landed the 3 of us in Northern Nevada. Why?? Who ever knows, I hated it and wanted out bad.  But I had to get a job and get some money saved up.  My life would change in 2 monumental ways that January in 1990.  One, I met the love of my life, best friend, and oh yes, husband.  Two, my mother was diagnosed with breast cancer.  Cancer.

After 15 years, 2 remissions, and 3 battles, she lost her battle.  She was only 54.  There were others in my family that battled and lost to cancer along with many other diseases.  During this time, I married, had two amazing children and just lived life.  I didn’t care about anything other than, work, sleep, children, and repeat. I lost focus. This was the result of losing interest in me…

IMG_0447

I gained a lot of weight and health issues.  I was seeing a doctor every six months because of my blood sugars, cholesterol, and blood pressure.  Add this medication, take away that medication, go through classes, more doctors, etc.  Not fun at all.  I was too young for this.  I was done.  After visiting my doctor for my 6 month check-in, my numbers were climbing in the wrong direction. I knew I was spiraling out of control.  I got mad, real mad.  I made a decision that day that would send my life into a new direction.  I made a decision to live and not die young.

It’s been over 3 years now on my new journey.  My passions include health, fitness, good for you food, and now running.  This is me now on my new journey…

IMG_0789

So who am I?  I am a woman that has lived an interesting life, gone through some battles, and has some scars to prove.  I have also conquered a few too.  I have a plan to live a long healthy fun filled life. I don’t think my personality has changed over the transformation.  I’m still the feisty puerto rican with lots to say and wants to conquer her world.  I just am doing so much more healthier than before and with a passion for good health, healthy food, and exercise.  I have swapped out my medications for vitamins and quality nutrition.  Now, I’m into running, cycling, and would like to pick up swimming.  Did you see that?? A triathlete in the making! For now, I am a runner.  And as my journey continues, I would love to share my adventures, mishaps, and seek out the support of friends and family and you.

So continue on and enjoy life. Get out there and get active! BUT…have fun doing so.

Until next blog entry…

1 Comment

  1. Liz Grigat says:

    Amazeballs!! So onspiring!!!

Comments are closed.

