Home » Everyday » Well what do you know, winter is coming!

Well what do you know, winter is coming!

I am a huge G.O.T. fan…so I couldn’t help the reference because today, in my town, winter made an appearance! I knew that coming back from sunny San Francisco over the holiday weekend would be a fading memory as a cold front and storm was getting ready to move through the area.  As a runner, I have learned to prep for my upcoming training week on Sunday.  I do my grocery shopping, errands, prep meals, and get all laundry done so that I can pack my luggage (at least it feels that way) for the days ahead.  I have also learned to check the weather.  As a good little runner girl, I did just that and this is what I saw:

Notice the highs and lows. BBbbrrr

Notice the highs and lows. BBbbrrr

So what does one do with that kind of information in advance?  Do you hunker down and hibernate for the week? Do you make those dreaded plans with the dreadmill to run those miles?  Do you “taper” just to practice tapering for a future future race?  Nope, you layer up buttercup and go for a run of course!  I did just that!!

Getting it done!

Snow was deep enough to provide a nice resistance during the run! What a workout...

Snow was deep enough to provide a nice resistance during the run! What a workout…

It actually wasn’t that bad.  Yes cold, yes snowy, but not too bad for a run.  And I have to mention this…motorists…we know when you purposefully hit those spots to spit snow and debris on us!! I was pelted twice on the run…I saw you do it.  Didn’t stop me though.  Still got my mileage in.

What are your “show-stoppers”??  How do you cope with winter and getting your mileage in?

RTM

